FIT Mythbusters: Fat vs. Muscle

Although FIT is ultimately a weight loss challenge, there are times when I wish we could all just throw out our scales! That mean ol’ scale can be so discouraging sometimes, and that’s precisely why we incorporated MEASUREMENTS into our program. We measure during Week 1, Week 4, and then finally at the end of Week 8. Even though that nagging number at your feet may say otherwise, you could be LOSING INCHES. Don’t live and die by what that scale screams at you on a day-to-day basis, because it could be LYING a lot of the time. If your clothes are fitting better (or falling off in some cases), that’s a fabulous indicator of how fit you are getting.

Have you ever heard the saying that “muscle weighs more than fat?” This is a complete myth. Think about it: a pound is a pound is a pound…and one pound of muscle weighs the SAME as one pound of fat.

5lbs muscle and fat

Lovely, eh? 5 lbs of fat and 5lbs of muscle

The truth behind this rumor-turned-wrong is that muscle takes up a lot LESS SPACE than fat. If you have 5 pounds of fat and 5 pounds of muscle, the muscle will be about 1/2 the size of the fat.

muscle vs fat

Here’s a startling visual…

muscle vs fat 2

Aaaaand another one.

FIT member, Amy Reese, is living proof that gaining muscle is fantastic for your health and wellbeing. Check out her journey:

“I was the skinny girl — the one who could eat whatever she wanted (and I did!) and still stay skinny. As a teen I never worried about weight or even got on a scale unless I was at a doctor’s appointment. I was VERY unhealthy despite being thin. I ate tons of junk and thought I could continue that way. Then I got married, and a few months into my marriage we discovered I had female medical issues. For the next year and a half I was put on a plethora of different birth control meds (none of which solved my problems), and in the process I gained 15-20 pounds. My husband and I found out we were unexpectedly pregnant with our first child, but unfortunately, just 2 weeks later I had a miscarriage. This pregnancy had stirred baby fever within me, and I wanted another baby but was fearful that I might do something to lose it, so I decided the best course of action was no physical activity. Meanwhile I still had those medical problems, and they made it difficult for pregnancy to happen. Months came and went without conceiving, and I put on ANOTHER 15 pounds. Finally a year later we got pregnant, and now we have four precious babies. I have never struggled too much with taking off the baby weight gained, but that 30 pounds I gained prior to conceiving has haunted me.

Fast forward to January 2015 when I was at my wit’s end with weight loss. A friend told me about the group and I thought why not? It was the best decision in my weight loss journey ever. I have learned so much about the importance of what I am putting in my body! In my first challenge I was able to get the rest of that pesky pre-pregnancy weight off, and I moved forward with maintenance challenges. I continued to push myself even harder in the exercise category and focused on not worrying about the scale but enjoying looking in the mirror. At the end of this last challenge and having been a part of FIT for six months, I have come further than I ever thought possible. I GAINED weight during this last challenge, but a gain is not always bad. When you put the right stuff in your body, and you move your body on purpose, exercise results are amazing!! I now have abs and guns, and I never dreamed I would get there. The sense of accomplishment is phenomenal, and if I can get here, anyone can!”

amy

Amy Reese through the years. Looking great, girl!

Are you ready to take the plunge and get those “abs and guns” like Amy? Check out the FIT Strength Training Ideas on Pinterest.

Pssst. Don’t forget that we don’t live and die by what the scale tries to get us to believe. The truth is in how you feel and the confidence you exude when those inches fade away.

– Monica Brown

 

 

Leave a Reply

